## Chabot-Las Positas Community College District For Immediate Release

**Media Contact:** Jennifer Aries (925) 784-0574 jennifer@25comm.com

Reopening offers flexible options: on-campus, hybrid and online sections

(**Dublin, CA**) Chabot-Las Positas Community College District (CLPCCD) is delighted to announce that both of its colleges will reopen for the fall 2021 semester with schedules that allow for the most flexibility for students, including hybrid online/on-campus courses and fully online offerings.

Both Chabot College and Las Positas College will have more hybrid online/in-person classes for the fall than they have had since the COVID-19 pandemic began. Safety protocols as recommended by both the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) will be in place for all inperson meetings of classes at both Chabot College and Las Positas College.

CLPCCD Chancellor Ronald Gerhard said he feels certain that all students, faculty and staff will be safe to return to either the Chabot College or Las Positas College campuses, given the intense preparation by the district.

"As COVID-19 cases decline across the country and in our region, we feel very comfortable allowing more classes to be held on-ground on both campuses," Gerhard said. "This hybrid format will allow our students to cautiously enjoy some of the benefits of learning in a traditional setting, while reaping the rewards of a distance learning environment during the pandemic."

Class schedules are subject to change to maintain compliance with COVID-19 state and county guidelines.

Fall classes for both Chabot College and Las Positas College start on August 18, and registration began on May 17.

## About Chabot-Las Positas Community College District

CLPCCD serves 29,000 students annually, in the San Francisco East Bay Area, particularly southern Alameda County, through its two colleges: Chabot College in Hayward and Las Positas College in Livermore. CLPCCD is governed by a sevenmember board of trustees which is responsible for all policy decisions. Board members are elected from trustee areas by the registered voters of nine communities: Castro Valley, Dublin, Hayward, Livermore, Pleasanton, San Leandro, San Lorenzo, Sunol, and Union City.

-CLPCCD-